The Beginnings of a Wardrobe

4 Jan

One of my best friends, who has an eight-month-old son, recently advised me not to bother buying any clothing for Vivian, as she maintains that excited family members and loved ones will likely give Viv all that she needs for the first several months. She’s probably right (we’ve already had several generous packages arrive on the porch as mounting proof) and as a sort of compromise I’ve decided to focus mainly on sewing for Viv and thrifting vintage baby clothing. Taking full advantage of the last week of winter break, I went out on the hunt yesterday. While our city is sorely lacking the kind of cheap yet overflowing-with-goodness antique and thrift stores that I swear exist out there somewhere, I did come home with a few neat things:

Patterns!

Exhibit A: Sewing patterns, found for $0.50 each. Not a bad deal, although I haven’t had a chance to look through and make sure that all of the pattern pieces are present. I’m looking forward to trying a few of these out. And learning how to sew a French Seam, which is, according to one set of directions, absolutely essential for baby sewing. I might have a sewing machine foot that does something like it, but I don’t know. My machine dates back to at least the 70s, and some well-meaning sewing technician (after thoughtfully comparing it to a “Model T that’s nice to have around but not an everyday driver”) recently sold me a magical converter shank for snap-on feet (since it’s unlikely that feet for my machine have been produced since sometime around the year I was born) and a bunch of new-fangled Brother parts that are nice and shiny and completely foreign to me. I’m pretty sure they do stuff. Like seams.

Sweetness!

Exhibit B: Two little dresses, purchased together for $6.00. The blue dress had some black stains. I had some bleach. I won. I’m making it my mission to find more cute little dresses like these. They were nearly as inexpensive as the well-worn and obviously stained Old Navy onesies that are so common in our local second-hand shops. And so much cuter. We’ll save the discussion about practicality for another day.

Sewing!

After driving around aimlessly for a while hoping that I’d magically stumble upon more cute stuff, I realized that I could easily score another dress if only I went home and got to work. And so I did. The fabric came from my meager stash, the lace was another thrift store find, and the pattern is the charming Itty Bitty Baby Dress from Made By Rae. I think it came out pretty well. I made a rookie mistake and basted the lace just a little bit too close to the edge of the bodice, which made attaching the gathered skirt (by serger) a little bit more difficult, but overall, I’m pleased. And excited to sew even more!

Leave a Reply

