Sleep Sack Success!

17 Jan

I finished up the first of the sleep sacks on Tuesday afternoon. Sewing up the final seam caused considerably more effort and frustration than it should have, as I was stubborn in my desire to use my serger. For the record, my serger (and possibly yours, too) does not like multiple layers of fabric: Two bent needles and an inch shorter than specified in pattern later, I gave up, went back to my Elna, and was done within a matter of minutes. And, I’m pretty pleased with the results. The pattern is insanely easy once you get the hang of it – I think that if you machine sew the entire thing, cutting out the pieces may actually take longer than the sewing itself. (Then again, cutting fabric is easily my least favorite part of sewing and takes me ages.)

I have one more sleep sack planned for Vivian, and will probably make a few more for friends who are due right after I am. I also need to get back to the quilting. I’ve had a difficult time deciding on a border pattern that I like, and this little dilemma has made it easy for set the quilt aside in favor of the sleep sacks, which offer near-instant gratification. I have classes again beginning tomorrow and probably won’t get a chance to work on anything else until Friday, which is good – plenty of time for day-dreaming and planning in between lectures. Plenty of time for calculus, too. Sigh.

2 Responses to “Sleep Sack Success!”

  1. KnitterInPink January 20, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    Those are really cute! I love the colors!!

  2. Mike S January 21, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    She’s gonna be so much better off growing up back north than in Texas. Can’t think of many places I like less, well, there’s always OK:-)

Leave a Reply

