Big Plans For Little Baby: Refinishing a High Chair

27 Jan

Early Tuesday morning I discovered a darling wooden high chair on Craigslist. By Tuesday afternoon it was all mine:

It was difficult to stay focused on school work all Wednesday as I dreamed of what I could do with it. So many possibilities!

I had a few more, er, vivid fabric prints in mind, but Mr. Right gets veto power, and his design taste tends toward the more sensible. With a little bit of laminated Amy Butler fabric (“Passion Lily Fern” from “Soul Blossoms” collection via Fabric.com), a borrowed sander, and a can or two of high gloss spray paint, I’m hoping to turn my retro cool high chair into something fun, funky, and modern.

I have yet to finish stitching the border on Vivian’s quilt. Oh, and there’s another sleep sack on the way. And the Clara dress. At the rate I’m going with planned projects, it’ll be a miracle if I finish everything before she arrives.

3 Responses to “Big Plans For Little Baby: Refinishing a High Chair”

  1. Mike S January 27, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    At this rate of new ambitions, she may well be old enough to help with the last few you plan for her arrival. hehehehe
    Good buy, retro is neat, I know ’cause I iz ‘retro’. (retrograde that is)

  2. mspremiseconclusion February 5, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    What a gorgeous high chair! I bet it’ll look so amazing once you’re done with it. It was such a coincidence that you mentioned Amy Butler fabrics in this post (LOVE the one you showed, by the way) since I just have recently become obsessed with her delicious prints!
    Love your blog,
    Em

    • vivupnorth February 5, 2011 at 11:26 am #

      Thank you! I’ve got the electric sander ready to go and am looking forward to finishing it soon. I also love Amy Butler – she has some gorgeous prints, and the ones that are considered by some (ahem) to be “too wild” for furniture will be great for baby clothing.

Leave a Reply

