Original Inspiration For My Sleep Sack Sewing Binge

28 Jan

Friday is for finishing, and indeed, I finished another sleep sack for Vivian.

Lining and Label

The pink and green paisley patterned flannel is actually what got me started on the idea to sew sleep sacks in the first place – I found it at Joann Fabrics a while ago and was so smitten with the delicate yet bold design that I had to make something with it, and the only something I could think of that called for any sort of flannel was Anna Maria Horner’s sleep sack design.

An early Valentine's Day present...

Now that I’ve used the pattern a few times, the sewing goes along pretty quickly. In an effort to be even speedier I used my machine to sew the bias tape down – and, while it’s not terrible, I think the stitching looks too obvious. Next time I’ll stick to hand-sewing it for a nice, professional look. While this is the last sleep sack I’m planning on making for Vivian, I have two friends who are expecting, so I’m looking forward to making more of them in the future.

Sweet flower detail

Notice the tomato plant in the middle photo? It’s been growing in our breakfast nook for well over a year now – and, it’s finally starting to flower, too!

One Response to “Original Inspiration For My Sleep Sack Sewing Binge”

  1. Mike S January 28, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    These days the machine stitches ARE professional grade, or what passes for it. Nice to think that what you disdain a bit is considered high quality.

Leave a Reply

